The Animal Soul

“Dogs are our link to paradise. They don’t know evil or jealousy or discontent. To sit with a dog on a hillside on a glorious afternoon is to be back in Eden, where doing nothing was not boring–it was peace.” ― Milan Kundera

Screen shot 2017-08-04 at 1.50.47 PM

THE ANIMAL SOUL
 
Just as I thought I can’t make another step
his paw touched my arm
his head rested on my shoulder
his tongue licked my neck
his warm breath in my face
his deep eyes hugging my heart.
 
Perhaps he was saying I can do it.
 
Perhaps he was thanking me
for rescuing him.
Perhaps he just loved me
unconditionally.
 
At times, it seems,
we find the best in the world
neatly packed in four paws;
in the gentle, animal soul.
 
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

